URSA MAJOR² PANELS

Day 1 Day 2 - Day 3 - Day 4

FRIDAY, MAY 28TH

DAY 1

Pastel Space Princess ~ A Makeup Demo by Dollfille | Hosted by Toshi Salvino (they/she/it/fae)

Video On Demand

YouTube link: https://youtu.be/PjMWKA46-30

A sweet pastel dream of a galaxy inspired princess! Enjoy this pre-recorded talk along of Dollfille creating a whimsical makeup look ~

 

Supply list here!

 

Elegant Gothic Lolita Aristocrat Vampire Romance: An Introduction to EGA Fashion | Hosted by Sara Bread (she/her) of Bay Area Kei

3:00 PM PDT / 6:00 PM EDT (60 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Join Sara Bread as she breaks down the looks for EGL's Big Sister fashion, EGA, and takes you on a journey through Elegant Gothic Lolita Aristocrat Vampire Romance.

 

Alternative Advanced Style: J-fashion Aunties Speak Up | Hosted by Arielle (she/her), Acha (she/her), and Rambo Brite (they/them)

4:15 PM PDT / 7:15 PM EDT (75 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Three J-fashion aunties in our late 40s/early 50s discuss the joys and challenges of dressing to stand out in middle age and beyond. We'll address ageism within the J-fashion community and within the style world at large, offer our pre-Y2K perspectives on some origins of J-fashion-adjacent style, honor our own style icon elders, and discuss the practical realities of donning ruffles and hairbows when you are old enough to have kids who wear J-fashion themselves.

 

EGL Treats: Celestial Mochi Donuts & Crepes de Kuma | Hosted by Allegra & Oriana (she/her) of EGL Treats

5:45 PM PDT / 8:45 PM EDT (90 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Join Allegra and Oriana from EGL Treats while we teach you how to make two adorable themed treats: Crepes inspired by one of the Bay Area's favorite com meetup places, Belly Good Cafe & Crepes and Space-Ube-Mochi Donuts!. We will show you how to make and fill two flavors of crepes with ice cream and demonstrate cute bear themed decorating with treats easily found at home and how to make mochi donuts complete with galaxy icing! Dietary variations available.

Click here for the ingredients and recipe list!

 

Ursa Major Jeo-bear-dy | Hosted by Purestmaiden & Mani Tokkigo (she/her) of Bay Area Kei

7:30 PM PDT / 10:30 PM EDT (75 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Join Mani for an exciting, bear-themed trivia game! Watch as participants bear it all and flex their bear knowledge in a hilarious test of random facts! The winner will receive a $35 gift card to either Sugarfina or to Build-a-Bear Workshop. 

 

Get to Know Vierge Vampur | Hosted by Akiko of Vierge Vampur (she/her) and Pengu of Flores Astorum (she/her)

9:00 PM PDT / 12:00 AM EDT (90 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Join Akiko, the designer of Vierge Vampur, for a brand interview! Pengu will be present to translate.

 

SATURDAY, MAY 29TH

DAY 2

International Lolita Roundtable 2 | Hosted by Obsixwi (she/her), Househaunter (she/they), Mintochuu (she/they), Ineray (she/her), & Iris (she/her)

7:00 AM PDT / 10:00 AM EDT (1 hr 45 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Join a panel of lolita fashion enthusiasts from all around the world to learn about what it's like to wear J-fashion in other countries! We will hear experiences from people who have lived in parts of the US, Ireland, Mexico, S. Korea, and Singapore, and discuss similarities and differences in the way J-fashion is perceived where we live.

 

Everyday Comfort Alterations | Hosted by Maria & Naddine (she/her)

9:00 AM PDT / 12:00 PM EDT (60 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Learn about some small and easy alterations you can do to your garments without needing a sewing machine!

 

Blissful Bear-y Bites | Hosted by Elyachan (they/them)

10:15 AM PDT / 1:15 PM EDT (90 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/elyachandementions

Craving something delicious to snack on for the Bear's Tea Party? Follow along as we make savory mushroom tartlets and smoked salmon tea sandwiches, and get other ideas for putting together a full Afternoon Tea meal!

Ingredients and recipe lists here.

 

Ursa Major² Fashion Walk | Hosted by Mindy (she/her) of Bay Area Kei

12:00 PM PDT / 3:00 PM EDT (45 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Come see our attendees' beautiful fashion walk submissions! We are also holding a coord contest, where participants have a chance to win prizes from the participating brands. All J-fashion styles welcome!

 

For more information, visit the Fashion Walk page!

 

[90 minute intermission]

 

Skincare Primer | Hosted by Emma / Nycticeivs (she/her) of Bay Area Kei

2:15 PM PDT / 5:15 PM EDT (90 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Skincare 101 - skincare basics, how to get a routine started, priming your skin for makeup, and cleansing afterwards, with Q&A at the end!

Want a sneak peek of the panel? You can find all recommended products here.

Polishing Your Style- Easy Nail Art DIY! | Hosted by Denise (she/her/they)

4:00 PM PDT / 7:00 PM EDT (90 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Is something missing from your coordinate? Do you want to carry a little of your style everywhere you go? Look no further! Nail polish and nail art is so much more than a French manicure! Join me for a follow-along session where we discuss the history of nail polish, its importance, as well as covering some easy DIY techniques that don't require fancy tools, lamps, or products! 

 

For supply list, click here!

Wig-Styling and Wear: Pro Tips | Hosted by Gia & Sharon (she/her)

5:45 PM PDT / 8:45 PM EDT (60 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Wig wear and styling tips from field professionals!

 

Kawaii or Kowai: J-Fashion Release Review Ursa Major Edition | Hosted by Mani Tokkigo & Plentiful Pie (she/her) of Bay Area Kei

7:00 PM PDT / 10:00 PM EDT (60 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Join Plentiful Pie and Mani Tokkigo as they review and pass judgement on the latest on-theme releases from J-fashion brands! Bring your own space milk and participate in chat!

 

Ursakumya DIY Showcase | Hosted by Plentiful Pie & Purestmaiden (she/her) of Bay Area Kei

8:15 PM PDT / 11:15 PM EDT (30 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Join hosts Purestmaiden and Pie for the Ursakumya DIY showcase! We'll be showing off and complimenting entrants' unbearably charming bear-themed creations! If you'd like to join in and submit your own pawsitively adorable bear craft, please check out our entry form here. Participants also have the option of opting-in to the contest to win prizes! 

 

For more information, visit the Ursakumya webpage! Submissions will close on Sunday, May 23.

 

Stitch It Urself | Hosted by Kelp (she/her) of Bay Area Kei

9:00 PM PDT / 12:00 AM EDT (90 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/itsk3lp

Bay Area Kei's own Kelp is back again with some divine ursine cross-stitch designs to Embroider and Loiter™ with fellow UM² attendees! This time, learn advanced techniques like French knots, beading, and fractional stitches, as well as strategies for using specialty threads like metallics and variegated floss successfully. Kelp will also go over methods for stitching a counted-thread embroidery pattern on fabric that isn't Aida cloth, such as a tote bag or jacket.

For supply list and downloadable patterns, click here!

 

SUNDAY, MAY 30TH

DAY 3

Bear-ly Appropriate Sodas & Sundaes | Hosted by Jason R. Merrill (he/him) of Blackbird Finery

8:00 AM PDT / 11:00 AM EDT (90 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Jason R. Merrill from Blackbird Finery demonstrates a smattering of themed soda formulas found in Antique Pharmacy publications.

Check out the ingredients list here!

 

Written in the Stars: What Your Zodiac Signs Say About Your Style | Hosted by Jamie Luna (she/her) of Rosé Forêt & TrAshley (she/her)

9:45 AM PDT / 12:45 PM EDT (60 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Join Jamie from Rosé Forêt and TrAshley the Faux-lita in a comedy panel that tells you everything you need to know about the astrological influences on your J-fashion style. From buying habits, to outfit planning techniques- either way you'll be laughing!

 

MONDAY, MAY 31ST

DAY 4

Punk Lolita 101 | Hosted by Shay (they/them)

10:00 AM PDT / 1:00 PM EDT (60 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Join frillSquid for an introduction to the rare and feral lolita substyle of punk lolita. This presentation goes from history, to recommended brands, to coordination advice. Punk lolita (probably) isn't dead! 

 

Soft Toy Plushy Handbag Workshop | Hosted by Jessica Corlett (she/her) of Flapjac Fashion-Craft Events

11:15 AM PDT / 2:15 PM EDT (90 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

You requested this workshop and we delivered! Join Jessica Corlett for a fun and chatty workshop and learn how to turn a stuffed friend into a bag. This is an easy all-abilities craft activity. There is a small amount of sewing involved which can be done by hand or by sewing machine.

 

Warning: Plushies will be dissected. 

See here for additional example photos and supply list!

 

Femme in STEM: A Round Table Discussion | Hosted by Beckyblujewel, Octavekitten, Sara Bread, Maria, Momo Neeks, & Jelli (she/her) 

1:00 PM PDT / 4:00 PM EDT (90 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

J-fashionistas are in many fields including lots who are in STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math). We've brought together a diverse group of femme presenting people to discuss a wide variety of topics including challenges in the workplace, why they love their jobs, and what it means to be an under-represented group within an industry to each of them.  

 

Small Business & Sizing: Challenges for Indie Designers | Hosted by Halley M. (she/her) of The Black Ribbon & Aria (she/her) of Lilith et Adalia

2:45 PM PDT / 5:45 PM EDT (60 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

As small designers it can be hard to figure out your brand's sizing charts. There is also the desire to be inclusive, and the difficulties of offering custom sizing. We bring in a few indie designers to explain a variety of challenges faced by indie designers on this topic and their current strategies on how to do their best to address these issues.

 

Head-bear Hookup! A Crochet Headdress DIY | Hosted by Molly Moonflower (she/her)

4:00 PM PDT / 7:00 PM EDT (90 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Can't find a headpiece to match that one difficult print? But the meetup is tomorrow! Learn to crochet a simple headdress that you can complete in an evening. Molly Moonflower will show you how to hook up your own quick and simple headdress in this crochet-a-long DIY using simple single and double crochet stitches, and manipulating them for a unique granny-chic look. 

Click here for instructions and supply list!

 

Closing Bearemony | Hosted by Bay Area Kei

6:00 PM PDT / 9:00 PM EDT (30 min)

Twitch link: twitch.tv/bayareakei

Join us to close out Ursa Major² - we’ll announce all contest winners and upcoming events!

 
ursa major2 twitch banner  Copy.jpg
 
 
 
 
ursa major2 twitch banner  Copy.jpg

DIY PANEL PREP LISTS