OCTOBER 30TH, 2020

DAY 1

The Mad Science of the 19th Cent. Soda Fountain Host: Jason R Merrill of Blackbird Finery

3:00 PM - 4:30 PM PT / 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM ET (90 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei

Jason R Merrill of Blackbird Finery demonstrates recipes from the golden age of Soda Fountains.

Want to follow along? See the drinks list and ingredients here

Grayscale Glamour ~ A Specialty Makeup Lesson with Dollfille~ Host: Dollfille

4:45 PM - 6:15 PM PT / 7:45 PM - 9:15 PM ET (90 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/dollfille

Join Dollfille as she teaches you how to do grayscale makeup to look like you stepped out of a film from the past. . . or another realm of existence.
This will be a step-by-step tutorial using minimal makeup and PLENTY of art theory; learning grayscale makeup will enhance your skills in a way you never had considered before! This lesson will focus on contouring, highlighting, and sculpting the face, as well as having plenty of useful overall tips for any type of makeup application. 

Check out the product list here! You can also check out Dollfille's Affiliated Amazon list here.

When Costumes Were "Fancy Dress" Host: Jason R Merrill of Blackbird Finery

6:30 PM - 8:00 PM PT / 9:30 PM - 11:00 PM ET (90 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei

We take a look at 19th and early 20th century Fancy Dress options to see what today's costume party would have looked like over 100 years ago.

Overcoming Fear in J-Fashion Host: Kawaii Riot

8:15 PM - 9:15 PM PT / 11:15 PM - 12:15 AM ET (60 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei

'Overcoming Fear in the J-fashion/Cosplay Community' focuses on the challenges we face when wearing new styles in public for the first time.

Purestmaiden's Pumpkin Patch Hosts: Purestmaiden & Obsixwi

9:30 PM - 10:30 PM PT / 12:30 AM - 1:30 AM ET (60 min)

Twitch link:  https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei

Join Purestmaiden and Obsixwi as they review your submissions to the J-Fashion Pumpkin Decorating Contest! Voting for your favorite pumpkins will begin after this panel, and we will announce the winners at closing ceremony!

To be featured in this panel, click here to see our Pumpkin Decorating Contest rules and entry form!

Kawaii or Kowai: J-Fashion Release Review Spoopy Edition Hosts: Plentiful Pie & Mani Tokkigo

10:45 PM - 11:45 PM PT / 1:45 AM - 2:45 AM ET (60 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/cookiesandcream

Join Plentiful Pie and Mani Tokkigo as they review and pass judgement on the latest Halloween releases from J-fashion brands! Bring your own witch's brew and participate in the chat!

Yōkai Sekai (The Spooky World of Yōkai) Host: Halley M. of The Black Ribbon

12:00 AM - 1:00 AM PT / 3:00 AM - 4:00 AM ET (60 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/retrogamechan

As more J-fashion brands release wafuku-inspired pieces, many of them have traditional Japanese folklore and myths associated with the imagery they use. We'll explore the concepts behind Yokai and other supernatural beings. If you like fairy tales, this might be the panel for you!

 
 
 

OCTOBER 31ST, 2020

DAY 2

Bloody Brilliant: A Deep Dive into Crimson Peak Host: Jo G.

7:00 AM - 8:00 AM PT / 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM ET (60 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei

Do you fancy spending an hour gawking at period costumes and uncannily coloured lighting? If so, join me for an obsessively detail - oriented look at the costumes, visuals and themes of Del Toro's 2015 gothic romance.

The Nature of J-Fashion: A Natural-Kei Panel Hosts: PurestmaidenAvina

8:15 AM - 9:15 AM PT / 11:15 AM - 12:15 PM ET (60 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei

Please join Purestmaiden and Avina for a discussion of natural-kei! We'll introduce you to this long-lived Japanese fashion trend by walking you through its history and presenting a how-to guide!

Bloody Devil: A Guro Lolita DIY! Host: Kaiser

9:30 AM - 11:00 AM PT / 12:30 PM - 2:00 PM ET (90 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei

Want to create the perfect Spooky DIY accessory? Please tune in to see how you can create your own choker and bracelet set!

To follow along, be sure to purchase the recommended supplies in advance! Check out the list here.

Gothic Lolita: A Symposium Hosts: Rose Nocturalia, Vudu Juju, and Kaiser

11:15 AM - 12:45 AM PT / 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM ET (90 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei

Join Rose Nocturnalia,Vudu_Juju and Cursed.Kaiser for a deep dive on the Gothic Lolita subculture. Learn the history, anatomy of an outfit, as well as what notable brands to shop at.

Gramarye Fashion Walk Host: Mindy

1:00 PM - 1:45 PM PT / 4:00 PM - 4:45 PM ET (45 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei

Come see our attendees' cute and spooky coordinate submissions! Voting for the Coord Contest will begin after this panel airs, and winners will be announced at our Closing Ceremony.

To be featured in the Fashion Walk, click here to see our rules and entry form!

Victorian Mourning Aesthetic in Lolita Host: Ashley Marie (Marie Dauphine)

2:00 PM - 3:00 PM PT / 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM ET (60 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei

The Victorians had a very particular way of honoring the dead and, which heavily influenced their fashion and how they dressed. Join me as I give a brief rundown of Victorian mourning fashion, its influences in modern gothic fashion, and how to integrate pieces and relics into your outfits!

Makeup & Gothic Lolita Host: Camille of Empire Noir

3:15 PM - 4:15 PM PT / 6:15 PM - 7:15 PM ET (60 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei

Camille, of participating brand Empire Noir, will be sharing her tips on how to elevate your gothic lolita coords and aesthetics with the magic of makeup! This panel will consist of makeup and skincare advice and examples, including application tips for both dark and light skin. Most of the information presented will lean heavily towards more gothic looks, but she will include some information for you sweet and classic lolitas, too, as a treat. 

Posing Panel 301: Poof, Pants, and Photography | Host: Plentiful Pie

4:30 PM - 5:30 PM PT / 7:30 PM - 8:30 PM ET (60 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/cookiesandcream

Take the graduate course on posing with Plentiful Pie! Learn about accentuating lines and poses that work for different types of J-fashion. Plus, some quick tips on taking the best shot!

DIY With Paradise Rose: Bat Wing Headbands | Host: Lili of Paradise Rose Shop

5:45 PM - 7:15 PM PT / 8:45 PM - 10:15 PM ET (90 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/lilianaavriel

Learn how to make a spoopy bat wing headband with the designer of Paradise Rose Shop. During the panel you’ll learn everything you need to know about how these headbands are made. Kits are available to purchase for the event, or even after as the panel will be recorded, on the Paradise Rose Shop Etsy page.

Click here to purchase a kit! If you are following along during the panel. please be sure to purchase one ASAP so it can arrive to you in time to participate. 

Salty Stories to Tell in the Dark: Halloween Edition | Hosts: Emma ZSara Bread

7:30 PM - 8:30 PM PT / 10:30 PM - 11:30 PM ET (60 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei

😱 Your mom did WHAT to your BtssB dress? You found WHAT in the secondhand bag you just bought? 😱
As a Halloween-themed continuation of our "Salty Stories To Tell In The Dark" series, join Bread.First.Seach and Nycticeivs for a chilling evening of EGL-themed horror stories from your worst nightmares...

Ruined brand? Lost shipments? Prepare yourself for a frightful night of tales based off real events that will make you jump out of your petticoats.

If you have a J-fashion horror story you'd like to submit, please do so here!

J-Fashion Street Snaps: A Conversation | Hosts: Kelp, Choom of The COMM Magazine, Alice in the Southlands of J-fashion Archives

8:45 PM - 9:45 PM PT / 11:45 PM - 12:45 PM ET (60 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei

Did you stumble upon the world of J-fashion through FRUiTS magazine? Curious about how alternative fashion magazines would include photos of people dressed to impress in Ura-Harajuku and other happening spots?
Join Choom (Editor-in-Chief of online fashion magazine The COMM) and Alice in the Southlands (J-fashion archivist) for a conversation about the history and significance of street snaps in print, as well as their influence on current fashion photography in virtual spaces online.

Halloween Movie Night | Host: Advil Kiriyama

10:00 PM - 11:45 PM PT / 1:00 AM - 2:45 AM ET (1 hr 45 min)

Join via Netflix Party

Join us for Halloween Movie Night! We will be watching the 1982 classic film, Poltergeist. Join via the Netflix Party browser extension; we will drop the link in our Event Discord right before the set viewing time. If you are interested in watching Halloween and horror films before the event, we are hosting two additional movie nights on October 24th and October 27th. For more information, please visit our movie screening schedule

Please note that this event runs at the same time as the Halloween Trivia event.

Halloween Trivia Game Night | Host: Plentiful Pie

10:00 PM - 11:00 PM PT / 1:00 AM - 2:00 AM ET (~60 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/cookiesandcream

Plentiful Pie is hosting a Halloween and J-fashion-themed trivia event on Kahoot! Viewers can participate by joining the Twitch stream. We will play three rounds, and each round can hold 10 players each. No registration is necessary, but because spots are limited, joining as a player will be decided by first-come first-serve basis. One well-learned trivia master will win a prize! For more information please see the Halloween Trivia page!

Please note that this event runs at the same time as the Halloween Movie Night.

Spooky Color-Along | Host: Thymine

12:00 AM - 1:00 AM PT / 3:00 AM - 4:00 AM ET (60 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/thyminet

J-fashion & Halloween-inspired illustration color-along & chit chat. Download an illustration by artist, Thymine, and either print it out or color in digitally! She will coloring along live on stream, and chatting about a variety of topics, including: art, why we love spooky season, and our favorite spooky trends or in J-fashion in general.

If you want to color along, you can download the image here!

 
 

NOVEMBER 1ST, 2020

DAY 3

Gramarye Closing Ceremony | Host: Bay Area Kei

6:00 PM - 6:30 PM PT / 9:00 PM - 9:30 PM ET (30 min)

Twitch link: https://www.twitch.tv/bayareakei

Join us for all contest winner announcements, end-of-event thoughts, and announcements regarding upcoming events!

Mailing List

Contact Us
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • YouTube

©2020 by Bay Area Kei.